Why I need you to vote yes

I’ve got lots of arguments about why you, as an Australian, need to tick the yes box.

However, here’s the one that’s the most personal.

The fact that you get a say at all on whether I can have a legal document to certify my relationship is as legal and legitimate as your heterosexual one should indicate this is a pretty sensitive subject.

It’s so sensitive in fact that I’ve been unable to broach it with the people that are closest to me because of the fear of rejection.

I know some family members and friends are quite traditional and/or religious.

Even though this is not actually about religious freedom or tradition, I’m afraid they will choose this ‘traditional’ view over me.

I have felt rejection for many reasons for my whole life. I’m not skinny and I’m not straight. Neither of which I can change.

This ‘vote’ is incredibly painful for me. I’ve been struggling to go below the politics to get to the feeling of it and find that it is the ultimate rejection – a whole country gets to say no, you aren’t good enough for this LEGAL bit of paper given to you by the government. (Or hopefully yes, but why are we even asking at all?)

It’s what I’ve heard from churches, religions, randoms – people who don’t even know me.

So if I don’t ask you about the survey vote, it’s not because I don’t care and I don’t want you to tick yes.

It’s because I can’t bear the thought of hearing that you’ll vote against me – not some imaginary bunch of people or even some words on a page. You’re saying that I am less than you. There is no other definition of the no box.

And I can’t take it. I can’t take it.

I’ll love all of you anyway but if you aren’t voting yes, please don’t tell me that you are voting no, because I don’t want to have that cut on my heart.

Wishing you all the happiness the Universe can bring

Tanya

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.