The Wonder Woman surprise

Probably spoiler alerts.

Just saw Wonder Woman movie and it was truly fantastic.

The biggest surprise I got though was the crying.

Not hers. Mine!

I’d already smiled, laughed and frowned. Felt sad.

wonder woman nomans3

But it was at this point I started to weep.

I still really don’t know why.

At this point of the movie, Diana has been trooping through the war front with Captain Steve Trevor and the gang to try to find – for her – Ares (for them, the German weapon stash).

Through the trenches they weave, until they come across a woman and child who begs Diana to do something to save the village, which has been taken by the German army.

But it’s no mans land, and no one crosses it, as Steve points out. But Diana has walked past enough of the horror by this point. She decides to make a stand here.

wonder woman nomans4

As she runs across no man’s land and deflects bullets, tears ran down my face.

wonder-woman-nomans

They didn’t stop as she doubles down and takes machine gun fire, deflecting it with her shield so Captain Trevor and co. can make their way across and rescue the town.

Why did this moment trigger the waterworks for me?

I really don’t know. Was it the pointlessness of war that still rages on today, that this depiction of the War to End All Wars was supposed to stop?

Was it Diana’s turning point, when she became no longer unmoved by the suffering?

Whatever it was, it was certainly an unexpected addition to the movie!

Meanwhile, the lovely and I enjoyed it very much. It is a great movie, not just because Gal Gadot is brilliant as Wonder Woman, playing her with a beautiful subtlety and emotion.

The action is packed, bad guys bad (although I note the addition of the female evil chemist complete with facial scar has disappointed some with facial dis-figuration, and I get why) and the humour often.

Director Patty Jenkins did a great job over all.

I would have loved to see more of Captain Trevor’s trusty secretary Etta Candy – witty and warm, and full of her own courage when required.

The Amazons were perfectly gorgeous, athletic – Robin Wright was excellent as the General.

Yes, there was a love interest – Chris Pine’s Captain Steve Trevor. To be honest, he was OK and I understand his point as the person who educated Diana to the ways of ‘man’ – that they were neither all good or all bad. I just think it could have been done without the kissy kissy bit.

But I confess I’m a lesbian with an agenda there, so I guess it could have been worse! (Let’s hope the next love interest is female.)

Wonder-Woman-nomans2

Go see it – enjoy the ride! You never know what might happen!

Wishing you all the happiness the Universe can bring
Tanya

Leave a Reply

