Why do we keep old watches?

So yesterday I went through my cupboard. I was cleaning up a box of old stuff and I wanted to put it in a new box. It’s a good time to be doing this because my lovely is going to move in with me.

This is both exciting and scary from me at the same time. I didn’t think I’d be doing this so soon, even though it’s been more than a year since living with someone. I thought I’d be single for many years before meeting someone this special again.

However I asked her to move in and she said yes. So I’m trying to make some space in my house for her. I want her to feel comfortable and to have her things around her. I want her to feel that she belongs here.

So in this box that’s just about fallen apart, but I’ve been dragging around for most of my life, is a whole lot of memories, things, stuff. I’ve kept these things for some reason, even though I may not now know what that reason is any more. Some things are obvious like birthday cards from my 30th birthday. I decided I could let them go now since I’m 43.

But other things you keep and it’s less obvious why. Things like watches. Why do we keep old watches? I don’t think I’m the only one that does this. I was even teasing my mother just last week about the same thing, and here I have half a dozen watches in this box, some of which I can’t even wear any more. And yet I put them in the new box. Even my old Swatch watch, which would probably fall apart, and a Felix watch which has actually no band on it anymore!

  
I read some cards from my ex-wife that made me a little sad. It did make me wonder how something so strong could disappear. But these things happen and I don’t regret any of it.

I also don’t regret the new start I have now with a wonderful woman.

One of the other things I found was a bunch of quotes about surrendering and about accepting yourself, accepting being peaceful, and I actually wrote “don’t deny who you were, but embrace who you are now”.

I think this is very relevant. The past cannot be deleted, or changed, or denied. However it does make us what we are today. I am both the same and different to how I was 15 years ago, 10 years ago, five years ago. Even one year ago.

Life is about cycles and about riding the waves that are sometimes rather rough. It’s interesting how waves in one part of your life can be rough but in the other part can be so beautifully smooth and calm. How the Universe is so unpredictable!

Wishing you all the happiness the Universe can bring
A person

Leave a Reply

