Is adulthood over yet?

Being a grown up sucks sometimes…

On my house hunt I found a very nice house. As part of my due diligence, I got a building and pest inspection.

Unfortunately, there were a few things that I wasn’t happy with that came up on those reports.

So, what to do next? I’ve never had a building report that I’ve been worried about before. True, this is an older house and I’ve not made many offers on them before but these issues were going to cost some dollars to fix. At minimum $5000, at maximum….who knows? And that was on top of the issues that I was already prepared to work with.

I had a tough choice to make. Did I take that $900 that I’d already spent getting the reports and work with what might be? Did I take the risk myself on a substantial investment?

I agonised over it for a bit. I got some second opinions. I searched my gut.

Although I liked the house very much, I didn’t ‘have to have it at all costs’. And I’ve experienced that feeling, so I know what it feels like.

This house was lovely, but it wasn’t ticking every single one of my boxes. That’s to be expected and some compromises have to be made. I had one of the outside requirements but not the other. I had a single bathroom but there was a second toilet. I had plenty of rooms to play with but there was still a little to do in arranging the furniture.

In the end the question mark with the dollar sign against it could not be settled. I just can’t take chances with damp and termites in an investment worth hundreds of thousands. Especially when I can’t afford to fix those things straight away.

So I withdrew from buying the house. First time in my life I’ve done that.

I was expecting pressure from the real estate agent but he was very good.

I slept very well. Probably because I’m on cold and flu drugs for my lurgy at the moment, but maybe, just maybe it’s also because that gut feeling is now settled.

The simple fact is that I really like where I am and so does my daughter.

But it’s a rental. And it’s not perfect either, but there are less things to worry about (that I can see, having lived here for nearly five months). So if the worst thing is that we stay here for another six month lease then I guess that won’t be too terrible! At best, wouldn’t it be great if the owner was willing to accept an offer and we don’t have to move again?!

Wishing you all the happiness the Universe can bring
A person

Leave a Reply

