It’s not so much about running…

“Running away means valuing yourself enough to believe that you deserve better. It means realizing that you are unhappy and allowing yourself to seek out something that might make you happier, leaving everything else in the dust. It means turning off all the voices inside you that tell you, Just wait it out. It might get better. Don’t wreck everything now.”

An Oral History Of Running Away via femsplain on Tumblr

I popped this quote into my blog when I saw it because I found it so true.

We hear a lot about how people are throwing things like relationships away too soon these days.

But there is also the point at which you try and deny and keep trying but it’s still the same as it was a year, five years, eight years previous.

I read a quote once which essentially said it’s not so much about running away from a situation, but more about a strategic withdrawal.

Sometimes you have to make tough choices to be happy. Sometimes it means that you will hurt others.

Some say it’s selfish to attempt to be the person that you want to be. To be happy. To be able to chase your dreams.

Maybe it is. Maybe it isn’t. I just know that it was the right choice for me and now I’m moving forward, growing and learning more than I thought possible.

I don’t say don’t try to improve whatever situation you are in (except abusive ones of course). I don’t say to just give up at the first hurdle you face in your relationship. Talk, work through, get counselling, develop yourself to be better. Then make choices about what to do.

Value yourself enough to believe you deserve to be happy.

Wishing you all the happiness the Universe can bring
A person

Leave a Reply

