To buy or not to buy a house…that is the question

One of my tasks now that I’m back from overseas is to decide whether I am buying a house or sitting in my very nice rental for another six months.

In the next few days I’m looking at quite a number of houses that I think are in my price range. It’s a bit tricky because I don’t have a big deposit, so I have to manage what I might like versus what I can afford.

If I can’t find a place that I really feel great about, then I’ll let it go for now and plan something else to do with my finances. Not that there are that many of them, but enough to try to do something with.

I’ve been rather uncontrolled with my spending in the last year. It’s been an exercise in letting go and trying to come back to a middle point where I’m neither too anxious about money, nor too cavalier with it.

The journey has not been without some angst. A couple of months ago I wrote about how I was feeling out of control, triggered by my ex buying her house.

It also took a bit of avoidance before I fully committed to my New York adventure.

However, I’ve now had that important but expensive journey and am ready to move forward to a more sensible money management strategy.

I do have a few extra bills – child support for one; also the electricity and gas bills out here in NSW country are not the cheapest either! So my savings are limited but I’m naturally more inclined to save for a purpose, so I need a goal.

So back to the house buying…There are a number of places to look at but the price range is relatively low, so it’s going to be tricky to find something that fits all my requirements. I need, not a big house, but one that is or appears to be, spacious. So the layout is important.

I need the house to be bright and sun filled, preferably north facing. This is tricky in the town I’m looking, as the houses are older and likely to be wrongly oriented or have small windows.

I’d love a long view, but this is unlikely in most of the places I can afford. Not impossible though!

A nice garden or space to make one is essential – if I can’t have a long view, I will need to create or enjoy a space that is relaxing outdoors. I spend a lot of time – alone and together – outside drinking cups of tea, entertaining or simply sitting and thinking. Sometimes writing.

It’s tricky to say if I’d like a character home or one that is modern and new. I like both.

I do need somewhere big enough to fit my furniture…one of the houses I’m looking at I’m afraid won’t fit my bed and two bedside tables…It looks lovely though!

Anyway, I’m going forward with the search with no expectations. I will, or will not find a house that I wish to buy. If I do, then I’ll go to the bank and see what I can offer. If I can purchase the house, great. If I can’t, then I decide what to save for and move on from there.

If I don’t find a house in this time frame, then I’ll resign my lease and decide what to save for.

No doubt I’ll be writing about the results here!

Wishing you all the happiness the Universe can bring,
A person

2 thoughts on “To buy or not to buy a house…that is the question

Leave a Reply

