The moment you knew you fell in love

I recently read an AfterEllen article about lesbian couples saying when they realised they were in love with each other.

There were plenty of cute moments and various scenarios, including someone giving her girl yummy ribs.

It made me think about when is it that I’ve realised I’m in love with someone. And then I couldn’t actually remember the exact moment I fell for the Ace of hearts. It was so full on with us at the start I can’t place the exact moment I knew I was in love with her. It was super mega chemistry.

Even further back to my first wife, I cannot recall either. She was the first woman I fell in love with.

Does that make me bad? I’m supposing romantics always remember these things but I bet half of you couldn’t remember that from twenty years ago either!

Or maybe I’m just not that romantic?!

Alicia Keys has a song called ‘That’s when I knew’ from her Girl on Fire album.

Right there
In a middle of a conversation
Wasn’t anything special you said
It was just there

Right then
I didn’t have time even over think it
I looked at you and all of a sudden (haha) I was all in

It’s like my knees are all weak and them butterflies
They were dancing taking all of my air
From that moment on it was very clear

That’s when I knew I fell in love
That’s when I knew you were the one
That’s when I knew you stole my heart away from me
That’s when I knew that I was sunk
That was the moment that I knew I was in love
That’s when I knew… that’s when I knew… that’s when I knew

That day
I didn’t know where we were going
Where the night would end
I didn’t know there was somethin’ brewing, and if it was
I didn’t know how much I’d care

That touch
When you barely held my hand
I was overcome with feelings I don’t understand
Not in a million years I didn’t think that we’d be here

It’s like my knees are all weak and them butterflies
Got me dancing taking all of my air
From that moment on it was very very very very clear, ohhhh

That’s when I knew I fell in love
That’s when I knew you were the one
That’s when I knew you stole my heart away from me
That’s when I knew that I was sunk
That was the moment that I knew I was in love
That’s when I knew… that’s when I knew… that’s when I knew
Don’t you know it, hey
That’s when I knew… that’s when I knew… that’s when I knew, baby

You know if you know
You know whatcha feel
And there’s no denying
I know that’s for real
There’s nothing to do
Just let it in
Gotta surrender

That’s when I knew I fell in love
That’s when I knew you were the one
That’s when I knew you stole my heart away from me
That’s when I knew that I was sunk
That was the moment that I knew I fell in love

And so like the song, these moments of realisation come at the oddest, most ordinary times.
Like looking across from someone lovely in a café, with their hair falling softly around them and their eyes sparkling but shy.
Or maybe on a drive. Or maybe after you’ve had amazing sex. Or crappy sex. Or them coming out of the ocean.
I  don’t know, could be any of those times!
Do you remember when you knew you were in love with your person?
Wishing you all the happiness the Universe can bring
A person
2 thoughts on “The moment you knew you fell in love

  1. (This was a lesbian relationship btw)

    I had been best friends with her for six years. A couple years ago, I started to slowly develop feelings for her, at this time I was extremely sheltered by my homophobic dad, and rude brother, so I tried to brush off the feelings because I thought I was wrong for how I felt.
    As the years past I dated a couple times, and slightly feel for another friend of mine (we’ll call this friend Emily), but all through the process I couldn’t stop thinking of her. Finally, about six months ago while in the car, we were play fighting (someone else was driving don’t worry) and I grabbed her hand, and we stopped. We just sat there for a while, hand in hand. A few seconds later I noticed it, and I grew really warm, and my stomach began to turn. I didn’t want her to notice and take her hand away. That’s when I knew, I felt, that I really loved this girl, my best friend for six years(we’ll call her Sam). After a while she noticed and took her hand back, but for the whole drive and next couple of days I couldn’t help how that made me feel.

    A month past, and she told me that she had a crush on Emily. I became slightly jealous, but didn’t act out or say anything.
    She decided to ask her out, and I painfully helped her in the process of planning, and executing. Sam went through great lengths to make it as special as she could, and I tried my best to help her. I just wanted her to be happy.

    Emily said no, and I was releived. After a while, I revealed to Emily how I used to like her, and how I currently liked Sam. Feeling guilty that I hid all of this from my best friend, I told Sam. She quickly responded with a simple “well do you still like my now?”
    At the time I was oblivious to the fact that that secretly meant she likes me, and I told her I didn’t know. Later I came to realize what she meant.

    Another month past. Me and all of my friends took a short trip to the nearby river. Later that evening, Sam told me how she has liked me for a while. My stomach churned and my heart leapt with joy.

    Two days later, I asked her out. We dated for exactly three months. I loved her so much, I could never get her out of my mind. She was all I thought about, and all I cared about.
    But, on September 13th, the day of our third month anniversary, and the day I decided to ask her to homecoming, she broke up with me. Apparently it was only a schoolgirl crush that soon went away. I still think of her almost daily, and I still love her. But I guess I’m going to have to look for love elsewhere, for she doesn’t feel the same…

    • Thanks so much for sharing that Ally! It’s tough to be in unrequited love but better to have had those feelings than not. I know you will find someone who looks at you with love.

Leave a Reply

