Trapped under a pile of CDs…

Today I was rediscovering music.

It’s like going through your life backwards…where as most of the music I have now is downloaded (like most of you I suspect), I was an avid CD music purchaser through the 1990s and early 2000s.

I started pulling the box out because I really wanted to hear Cherry Lips by Garbage. In trying to find that it was like rediscovering a million dollars in cash in an old box!

Sneaker Pimps, Air, Jet, Clouds, Pearl Jam, Jeff Buckley, and george, have now got back on my playlist.

I’ve had a lovely listen to Pavarotti (yes, I did say Pavarotti), some delightful sixties divas, covers by Australian bands of Burt Bacharach, New Order and Live. Not all the CDs will be transferred – it’s such a big job and I’ll be prioritising so I can get as much of the stuff I want for now as possible.

And for the first time ever, a few CDs will disappear. I hate putting out music as much as I hate putting out books, but sometimes there are some things you have to let go.

It’s been so lovely disappearing into these songs again!

Not only that, it brings back a lot of memories. I can often picture the time and place I heard a particular song. I’m sure it’s true for most people that music can really embed itself in your head and colour the period of time you were listening to it.

The last time I was this single, I spent a lot of time just laying around listening to music. It seems interesting that I’m doing that again, although I always had music on in the background of the family home. Kids don’t often allow you to just sit and listen however!

I’m loving introducing new /old music to my daughter. She’s been enjoying Diamonds and Pearls by Prince with me for the last few weeks. The only problem is when she asks ‘Mumma, what’s this song about?’ and the song is Cream, or Gett Off, or Thunder. Damn that man sings about sex a lot!! The answer is usually ‘it’s about people having fun’ although when she asked me why it was called Gett Off, I confess I said ‘because it just is!’

Hope you enjoy your music collection as much as I do!

Wishing you all the happiness the Universe can bring
A person

Leave a Reply

