Thank you for the music

While it’s tempting to put another lovely picture of Buddha up here today, I’ll try to write something better than that! (Not better than Buddha, nothing is better than Buddha.)

Talking music with a friend overseas… We both have eclectic tastes but agree that heavy metal is not for us – great for others, not for us!

We are talking about what music means to us, the different artists, how we listen to it, how the words affect us, favourite songs.

Music is so important. I’ve written about it before but really, it’s just too good not to mention again. The capacity of music, of singers, of lyrics to move you in and out of moods is amazing.

IMG_6771

(Pic via Tumblr)

I have no musical talent but I love to listen and as stated, have quite an extensive, yet eclectic taste. From Nirvana to Taylor Swift (I know, apparently I have to run and hide now for admitting that!), I love music that has passion, that has emotion. So it could be ‘Killing in the name of’ or it could be ‘Only love can hurt like this’, whatever moves me.

I’m fortunate that I get a car trip to work and back that allows me to indulge in listening to music – be it radio or not. My Bluetooth has been reset and I haven’t spent the time pairing up my phone again so that is very annoying. Fortunately I really love the CD in there because frankly I can’t stand 90% of the chatter on commercial radio in between the songs.

When I moved I was looking through some boxes and dragged out some CDs I hadn’t listened to for a while. Some Vince Jones and Grace Night jazz/swing; the Wicked Soundtrack; Radiohead.

And today in the car I heard ‘Senses working overtime’ by XTC and I so love that song! My daughter was there and she was like ‘have I heard this song before?’ and I said ‘I don’t think so but I love it!’

Meanwhile, was discussing the song that always makes me feel great when I hear it, and I seem to hear it just when it’s right. ‘I can see clearly now’ pretty much by any of the artists who have sung it. It’s just such a great song, so full of hope and joy and triumph!

Hope to hear it again soon!

‘I can see clearly now the rain has gone
It’s gonna be a bright, bright, sunshiny day’

Wishing you all the happiness the Universe can bring
A person

NaBloPoMo_1114_465x287_NOV

Leave a Reply

